Absurd! Hub discontinued Access order failed, support unreachable!

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
Completely dissatisfied with acurite currently. I have had my 5 in 1 weather station for a little over a year working fine. I have been getting emails saying that my hub will be discontinued and that I will have to shell out $40 for their new "access".

Thanks for the steep discount on the item I HAVE to buy so my previous purchase isn't garbage! I don't mind buying new stuff but I don't appreciate being forced to!

Fine, I swallow this pill and decide to shell out the $$ on the new gizmo. 

I tried placing the order here on the site and the website failed to complete the transaction. Error on their page. I was about to try the order again but see that there is a pending charge on my credit card from acurite. 

Fine, I'll call them with the numbers provided on the website here. I found the following numbers. 

1-262-729-4850 : Called right after the order error yesterday. Was caller 32, (whatever that means) stayed on hold for about 5min and had the option to give a call back number. Provided my number in the service and never received a call back! I tried to call this number back later in the day and received a prompt that it was out of service!!!

Then I find a friendly reminder in my email from acurite saying that I left items in my cart, "call us to order"! (I left the item in my cart when I was thinking about re trying the order). Great! I see a different number to call 1-262-249-3259. I call this number and it says that this number is no longer in use, hang up and call 1-262-729-4852. ooook I call back to that number and it says this number is no longer in use, hang up and call 1-262-729-4852!!! Am I going insane!? that is the number I dialed. Double checked and tried again. Yes I'm being told to hang up and call the same number! ....

Now when I call I am getting a prompt with "system problems"! No Kidding! 

I just want to know what happened with my order!!! I would have happily emailed but there is no email address listed on the site to contact!! The email's I receive from acurite say do not reply so no help there! 

This whole process is a mess! If I do ever get this "access" hub I think it's the last dollar acurite is getting from me or anyone I talk to!
Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • Furious!

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Kevin Spelay

Kevin Spelay

  • 10 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
..... welcome to the club!
Photo of Fred Flinstone

Fred Flinstone

  • 281 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
read my post below
Photo of Ramakrishnan Venkatasubramanian

Ramakrishnan Venkatasubramanian

  • 11 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
same issue for me as well
Photo of Tim Tardiff

Tim Tardiff

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
The exact same thing happened to me.  Error while ordering, but my card has a charge pending!
Where's my stuff or my $!
Photo of Fred Flinstone

Fred Flinstone

  • 281 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
read my post below.
Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Well... My pending charge on my credit card disappeared so I guess the order didn't go through. No contact with acurite here or anywhere else. Do I dare attempt the order again!?

Anyone else have success? This would be soo much easier if they would just offer promos through a distributor like amazon as they clearly seem to have issues delivering directly. 
Photo of Fred Flinstone

Fred Flinstone

  • 281 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes

As I said before, MOST of you will order the new and they KNOW it.  So you all fall in line like little sheep. 

I don't have to buy it.  I can go on to Weather Underground and look and see the SAME information form some other station that won't be more then 2 miles from my house.  If I want to see my inside home temp. I can simply look on my app for my wi-fi thermostat. 

I won't be one of Acurite's "sheep" falling in line like 80% of you will be.

Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Meh, I'll take the hub at $40. It's cheaper than I can build a new station with the same features. Worst case I could prob sell it on ebay and recoup some of my loss on my 5 in 1 station. 
Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
That is of course if I could actually buy it! 
Photo of AcuRite Jennifer

AcuRite Jennifer

  • 11801 Posts
  • 536 Reply Likes
Hello Jon B,

We apologize that you were not able to get through to our support, and you were having an issue with the order. We have emailed you at the address on file.  Our numbers that you would use to contact support are 262-729-4852 is our general line. My AcuRite line is 262-729-4850. Any other numbers would not work. 
Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Well.... to conclude the story. Was contacted by email from Acurite (Jennifer above) in addition to the comment in this thread on the same day last week.

I was told to offer my availability for a call back and they would reach out to order. (It was also mentioned to use the same numbers that didn't get me anywhere before if I wanted to call them to order! Bleh)

I decided to wait a bit and maybe email back and setup a call for next week. At this point I'm about over this nonsense. 

The next day I receive a tracking number from Acurite! Ok? The charge I had pending is long gone from my credit card but clearly it's on it's way. Maybe they are just sending me one for my troubles? 

Access hub arrived yesterday, looks fine, unimpressive hunk of plastic. Oooo it takes batteries. Throw it in the drawer, I suppose I'll hook it up in a few months to keep my 5in1 online after august.  

Today, notice from my credit card, receipt for my payment to acurite! Original charge back on there! I guess this wasn't a gift after all. 

What a joke this whole process was. Done with Acurite and pissed I once recommended them as a quality product! 
Photo of EddieDee

EddieDee

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I have to agree. I got my Access last week and have yet been able to get it to work. All the shills on here keep saying "No one else has this problem" but they are obviously not reading the forums! A complete waste of money and time. I am beyond done with AcuRite.
Photo of Hiline

Hiline

  • 7 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
WAIT.... it takes batteries only? No other power source. If so, I guess this is good news. I won't be having any ordering problems.
Photo of Jon B

Jon B

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
It takes batteries as a backup (optional). So you can keep/back-fill your precious weather data on acurites servers after a power outage. Note: From what I have read this will not back-fill weather underground data. 

This is the only visible hardware upgrade other than looking terrible (IMO). 
(Edited)
Photo of chris

chris

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
class action law suit anyone